We’re two weeks into the beastly hot weather in Missouri and my boys and I have the crabby fussies.  We don’t want to eat.  We don’t want to cook.  We want to go outside and play without passing out. . .

Luckily, cantaloupe and watermelon are starting to ripen in my garden and it’s time to make cold, melon slushees.  In fact, I just finished sipping one, and it was so refreshing that I had to share.  The following recipe is for cantaloupe slushies, but keep in mind that you can substitute watermelon, honeydew or casaba melon for the cantaloupe.  You might also like lemon juice in place of the lime.  Even better, if you have any slushie left over, pour it into popsicle molds and freeze for at least 8 hours.  My boys gobble these popsicles up!

Cantaloupe Slushies

4 cups cantaloupe, refrigerator cold or slightly frozen
2 tablespoons lime juice
2  tablespoons honey or sugar*
8 ice cubes

Put the melon, lime juice and sugar in the blender and  blend until combined (If your melon isn’t quite ripe you may have to add a little water).  Add the ice and blend until “slushie” (about 10 – 15 seconds.) Pour into serving glasses and enjoy!

Yeild: About 4 cups of slushie.

Note: Adjust the sugar and lime juice in this recipe based on the sweetness of the melon and your own tastes.  (Usually it’s best if you keep the ratio even). I’m getting fresh cantaloupe from my garden right now and it’s so sweet, I  don’t think it needs more than half a tablespoon of sugar.  Of course, my boys would prefer that I halve the lime juice and double the sugar . . .

Popsicles: If you plan to freeze slushies into popsicles, use confectioners sugar or honey or you’ll end up with a grainy consistency.

Variation 1:  Add 1/2 cup plain yogurt to the cantaloupe for a creamier slushie.  Yogurt is especially good in the popsicles!

Variation 2:  Substitute watermelon or honeydew melon in place of the cantaloupe.   Also try lemon juice in place of the lime.

Variation 3:  Substitute 1/2 cup orange juice for the lime juice and sugar.

